Add a new user

Summary

You can add new users to Palace and send them a password reset link to create their unique password. You must have administrative privileges to perform this task.

  • Go to Users > Add user

Capture.PNG

  • Profile:
    • Username - Usually your first name
    • Position - This field can be used as a merge field in a letter to fill in if needed
    • Personal Details and Contact Information - Fill in as required

Note: You must enter a Last name and an email address into the Primary email box. This email address is what is used to sign into your Palace database. This is also linked to your Username.

When you first get set up in Palace you will receive an email asking you to change your password and confirm it.

  • Dates:
    • Date started - Enter the date started with the company
    • Date ended - When employment is ended
    • User Codes - These are used for the advertising uploads for sites like RealNZ and Harcourts etc.
  • Profile image:
    • A profile image can be added to the user profile using Choose File or drag and drop. The image will be displayed on Palace home screens but not in the user's email signature
    • The profile image will also be displayed on TradeMe and various other advertising platforms
    • The profile image needs to be in JPG format and have a size of 800x800 pixels, with a maximum file size of 2 MB

Financial tab:

Enter the commission percentage that you are paying them. (if you are paying them commission)

Note: On each receipt, Palace takes off the company percentage first. Then the User commission is taken from the company commission i.e. 8% company commission is $50.00 and the User is set to receive 50% which will be $25.00. For more information on User commissions and GST - See the Palace and User Commissions Information file

  • GST registered number - Enter the GST number if the user has one - See User Commission and GST notes
  • Withholding tax - If the user is charged a withholding fee, enter the %
  • Payment type - Select the relevant payment type

User-financial.png

  • Click More > Save & view or Save & close when done

Authorities tab:

See the article on user authorities that explains and provides a breakdown of authority that is available to a user.

Permissions tab:

This area controls which parts of Palace you can share with another Palace user - This includes, your owners, properties and tenants as well as any entries under the Dashboard tabs including your emails and SMS. You can have it set so that you can only see your own and no one else will see or you can share everything. There are two sections explained below.

Option 1

If you just want to see your own Owner's properties and Tenants as well as reminders but want the option to see others from time to time, then option 1 is for you. Under each user in your database ensure that your name is set to NO against each user Permissions tab and under your Authorities page make sure you have Company Portfolio turned to Yes.

Snip20211026_21.png

This allows you to switch on and off as you want using the (human) eye icon at the top of the screen.
Unlocking the eye icon will reveal ALL owners, properties and tenants when you need to see them under each list, however, this also unlocks the 'ALL' option under the 'user drop-down' under each dashboard tab. Very much like the owners, properties and tenants, this option will display ALL entries from all users within your database, allowing you to see your entries from the dashboard by default and then the ability to see everyone else's when you need to.


NOTE: The ALL option is only visible when you unlock the eye at the top of your Palace screen:

Snip20211026_19.png

Snip20211026_20.png

 

Option 2

If you share a portfolio with other users or need to have quick and easy access to other users' owners, properties, tenants and dashboard entries then Option 2 is ideal for you.

Under each relevant user in your database, you want to access their individual Permissions tab and set the toggle next to your name to YES. 

What this means, is that by default, all owners, properties, tenants and dashboard entries that belong to users that have shared permissions with you, will display on your lists.

Under the Dashboard tabs, you will also see their names available to select from as well as the option 'User Permissions'. All users that share permissions with you will show in your user drop-down in the dashboard and the 'User Permissions' option simply displays all of them in one page as opposed to you selecting them individually.

Discuss with your trainer if you want it explained a bit more

Snip20211026_23.png

  • Once you have finished click Save & close

You must create their password via the feature, set up log in details for a new user.

Update 15.03.2023

Users: Create New - Duplicates: We have fixed an issue that resulted in duplicate Users being created in a database, this was caused by the Save & View function, followed by the Save & Close function. Users can now successfully enter Users in a database without creating duplicates.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Article is closed for comments.